Waiting for visitors

That is what this picture says to me. I suppose when the schools break up on Friday, they will all descend on this pretty coastal resort. I remember bringing Henry to this little boating pond opposite the seafront in Cromer when he was about 5, and hesitating to let him go off on his own on the water (even though it only comes up to my knees!) Now he kayaks on the broads!

Well this is where I met Mollie tonight at about 6.15. she has had a lovely day with Yaz; cinema, shopping, beach, while my day has been less lovely, more chasing my tail. Something I'll have to get used to I suppose.

Jumping back to first thing, and I chose not to blip our flooded conservatory. I came downstairs to find Jon on his knees mopping up. The reason? The gutter blocked but also dropped in the middle, so the water was running down the wall. The lead flashing has come away and one corner (where all my vinyl was living in a cardboard box!) Is very wet. Tonight, I've changed the newspaper that Jon put under the edges of the big rug. That is still wet, and I'm hoping the wood flooring isn't ruined, especially as it was the cheapest they did, so probably not designed to be rained on. Anyway, on a positive note, my allotment got a proper soaking. While Jon was up a ladder at 7am trying to sort out the gutter, I donned wellies and wax proof and drove up to let the chickens out. Cheating I know, but this morning things were behind. Then I drove Henry to school where he ended up being nearly an hour early, but avoided the rain. It was his 3rd day in a row at an activity place in Thetford where he has been doing paintball, airguns and today archery and Lazer clay pigeon shooting. He got the highest mark in the archery. 96/110. That sounds good to me. He has one final day there tomorrow. I think he has enjoyed it.

Now I need to wander up to the allotment with Bracken. When Jon is here to do dog duties, I plan to cycle, but I can't do that with the dog in tow. That is once I can force myself out of my chair, at the bottom of the garden. It is the coolest place I can find. Just 5 more minutes....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.