Seldom Seen

Today started with Madchicken woman being on chicken duty at the allotment, the arrangement being that she would only wake me first if there was potentially a mist that I would enjoy photographing. Well, there was a potential mist but it turned out to be more of a fog - no lovely swirling mists as the sun broke through on a glorious day - just a blanket of dullness which was, nonetheless, quite atmospheric! I happily snapped away in the churchyard whist mcw did what need to be done, then we both went down into Calstock to photograph the river. I took a few long exposures and mcw took a variety, including some lovely ducks.

Home for a two tier breakfast - scotch pancakes with poached egg, followed by Greek yoghurt and a mixed berry compote with berries from the allotment, prepared there and then by mcw - delicious! First round of photos for the day looked through and one or two processed and then off for a second attempt to visit the house at Cotehele. We got there 10 minutes before they were closing their doors this time, so had 40 minutes to wander through the house, taking photos of whatever caught our eye. We were nearing departure time when we met up with a friend of mcw's who works there and we stood talking for a while. And then she offered to allow us access to the roof to take photos from up there on condition that we promised not to break any legs - we leapt at the opportunity! So up the tiny spiral staircase we went - and, oh, what a view when we stepped outside - it was fantastic! A seldom seen view of the viaduct at Calstock - it was such a fantastic, unrepeatable opportunity that there was no doubt in my mind that it would be my blip for the day (although I was pretty pleased with the dragonfly included as an extra that I managed to get beside the pond after we were once more down in the gardens).

We went home feeling exceptionally pleased and satisfied with our experience. But that wasn't the end of the day! Mcw had booked us in to a wonderful eatery for the evening where we sample the most exquisite food - totally, totally delicious and a real treat! I dare say she will describe what we ate far more eloquently than I can....

Still blipping a day late -  I will catch up eventually! As I write this, I am back home and I am delighted to say that I find that Adobe have updated their software to support my new camera, so I was able to process this in Lightroom using the RAW file rather than processing a jpeg in Photoshop Elements - such a relief and so much more satisfying!!! Do look large, to see it at its best!

Huge thanks to you all for your great comments, stars and hearts whilst I've been visiting mcw in Cornwall - you have been very lovely!


Ann :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.