The Bee Eaters of East Leake

Seven bee eaters were spotted in the sand quarry at East Leake at the beginning of June. The news this week was that two clutches of eggs had hatched and a third clutch is expected to hatch shortly. The birds have built their burrows in a pile of sand overlooking one of the quarry ponds.

I had time this morning so Basil and I headed off to see them. The RSPB have moved in pretty smartly to organise visitors and to protect the birds night and day. Someone's on duty in the quarry at all times.

They're such posers, arranging themselves on tree branches for us to view. Lots of tripods and long lenses. I used my 100-400 mm lens (effective focal length 600 mm) but this was the best I could do at a distance of around 400m. Even so, I can still make out the colours.

I'm very pleased to have seen them. They don't just eat bees. They eat dragonflies too. The RSPB rep expects them to stay for another four weeks until the youngsters are fully fledged.

It's assumed that climate change has driven them north. They're usually found in southern Europe.

While taking a short cut into the village, a lithe, sleek stoat ran across the road in front of me.

After my almost obligatory meringue at Bryers, Basil and I had a short walk in Meadow Park. Lots of Ringlet butterflies.

Rain clouds were massing to the south, so we cut short our walk and returned home.

For Leah: Merops apiaster

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.