The Party's Over

I'd invited friends round this afternoon to celebrate my 70th birthday, which was actually last Sunday.

I'dbeen crazily busy all weekend shopping and prepping food.

Though hot, a cloudy sky provided a welcome sunscreen in addition to the gazebo, the shade from over the fence and the umbrella.

Kat and George came to stay to help Len and me get ready. Len was really worried about making Pimms with prosecco, so I rose to the occasion. Tall glass jug, cucumber, lemon and orange ready sliced with mint picked from the garden. Lots of ice cubes in the jug, pour in the PImms to about a fifth full. A generous dash of gin, fill the rest of the way with chilled prosecco then top up with lemonade.

It was a dangerous drink. You could feel it being refreshing but my, the alcohol content was something else. Necessary to have two glasses of water before going home.

Photo taken from a bedroom windowsill over which the jasmine is climbing, out over the patio with a view on to the seating in the garden. Everyone seemed to enjoy themselves. I was concerned that people wouldn't eat, but they did. All that salad preparation wasn't for nothing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.