Iconic Summer

How did it get to be late summer so quickly? The wheat is ripening fast, as you can see from this shot of a field at West Leake, Notts. Note to self: need to get to Great Chesterton Windmill before the combine harvester is moved in. It's surrounded by wheat fields this year.

I hopped out of the car to click this on my way to a briefing meeting with Hayley this afternoon. I shall be a roving photographer at a social event tomorrow evening.

Hayley had managed to 'rescue' some of the shots I took last week at the citizenship ceremony. I think both she and I are hoping that nobody wants a print at larger than 7 x 5.

The new bed arrived while I was out, praise heaven. Last night was not comfortable. I had opted for the sofa because Len needs his CPAPP machine on at night, and it was too warm to be hemmed in. Cramp was the operative word. I had repeated attacks, so moved to the massage lounger in the conservatory, after taking on board two glasses of water.

I finally got some rest, but the lounger is not the same as a good, solid bed. Just before 6 am, I flounced in beside Len. I don't know how I've operated today.

Our neighbours are back from Bahrain for long vacation and have been busy clearing up the front garden. Basil recognises Chris even though she's been away for a year and bounces up to the front door, tail wagging, expecting to be admitted.

He, little tyke, has started growling at the food in his bowl and will only eat it straight off the mat underneath. I thought I'd get something a bit more substantial and bought a plastic mat with  a shallow rim to use instead. We got the growl. Is it because it has a strange, newish smell? Is it because it's red? Whatever the issue, we've had to revert to tipping his dinner out of his bowl on to the old mat.

Worming him was a little easier today. We went into see the vet, who brooked no nonsense and held his jaw to make sure the tablet went down. Last time, it too two vet nurses and me holding him to make sure he ate it.

It's beginning to get dark well before 8 pm. I had been hoping to get some outdoor shots tomorrow evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.