Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

Tiny Tuesday: Food

I borrowed a few peanuts from my squirrels for my blip today.  It's funny that, although I like peanuts, I don't eat them (except at a ballgame) because I consider them squirrel food.  Many thanks to dbifulco for hosting the challenge this week!  :-)

We had a scare with Chico (our daughter's 16 year old Stafordshire Terrier) last night.  She called me at 10:30 in tears and said there was a lot of blood coming from his rectum.  I jumped in the car and hurried over.  They said he wouldn't let them look at it.  I made them hold him down while I checked and immediately found that the bloody fluid was not from his rectum but from a ruptured anal sac.  He was not a happy boy while I applied gentle pressure with a warm wash cloth and got a lot more to come out.  Then I held pressure on it for a few more minutes until it stopped draining.  So we avoided a late night trip to the emergency vet and he seemed pretty well by the time I left.  She stayed home with him today and I went to check and it looks much better.  It's really traumatic for him to go to the vet so we're just going to keep a close eye on it.  At this point in his life we are just trying to keep him as comfortable as possible.  So he got an extra pain pill and some vanilla ice cream before I left last night.   It's a good thing I'm not squeamish! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.