Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

A day for babies

It was definitely a day for baby birds.  When I was sipping my tea on the deck this morning, I could hear baby cardinals and chipping sparrows chirping from the shrubs while the blue jays and tufted titmice were flying around chasing parents in a quest to be fed.  A pair of catbirds, probably not yet able to fly, were hiding in some shrubs waiting to be fed, with their stubby little tails and clown smiles.  But it was the blue jays who made me laugh.

The youngster (lower left) was pitching a fit while the parent was at the feeder.  When the adult came over and landed a couple of branches above the youngster, the wing flapping and begging went into full gear...to no avail.  Finally the youngster hopped up to where the parent was (seen here) and started screeching and flapping.  The parent, evidently fed up, screeched back and then reached over and pecked the youngster on the head!  It was hilarious.  An avian parenting moment.

Gorgeous cool day again today, so I went for a walk then spent a lot of time skulking around in the garden photographing things.  A nice visit with MIL, lunch with hubs, and then some time spent reviewing all of the amazing TinyTuesday - Eat it entries.  That made me hungry again, so luckily we are meeting up with some friends for dinner tonight!

I've posted four other photos on Flickr (catbirds, Mint Moth, wren and a huge monarch cat in my hand) starting HERE.  

My picks for Tiny Tuesday will be posted here tomorrow, so be sure to check back.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.