Fireworks On The Quay

What could be better for Abstract Thursday than the wonderful patterns created by fireworks? 

Tonight was the first time I've really made an effort to get a decent firework shot. I did some research on settings first, grabbed my tripod (that's definitely a first for fireworks for me), my new camera and made my way to Poole Quay for the first of the weekly summer firework displays. There was less happening on the quay than I had hoped, so I settled myself pretty much straight away on the edge of the quay and played about a bit with exposure, etc, all the time keeping the strap around my wrist even when the camera was on the tripod. The fireworks are all set off from a boat in the harbour and I had no wish for it to end up in the sea!

The display only lasts about 10 minutes or so but it is quite spectacular and well worth seeing. I only had a small handful of shots I was happy with but I guess that's not bad for a first attempt. Hopefully, I'll get chance to get down there again sometime during the summer season. I've included a couple more in extras.

Huge thanks for all the lovely comments, stars and hearts you showered on yesterday's Emergency Blip - I had two blips on page one for a while! I'm thrilled as it's a good while since that has happened!


Ann :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.