Houseonahill6

By Houseonahill6

Under the weather

'Under the weather' what a strange saying but I guess that's how I felt today. I usually get up around 6am but felt tired this morning so went back to bed. Big mistake as I did nt get up until 9 and then felt tired and 'under the weather' all day. The actual weather did nt help, it was blowy first thing and grey , it did clear though and was sunny in the evening.
I went into the garden to look for a blip. I found a harvetman that had two bright red mites on it, lots of different bees on the crane bill geranium and then 'my' pheasant appeared and I sat still and he walked up to where I was sitting.
Richard said he had seen a cat in the garden yesterday so had turned the outside lights on to shoo him away and he saw 'hundreds' of slugs on the decking, yuk, must remember not to go out bare foot to look at the stars.
Watched Beechgrove Garden that was from the glorious Orkney. They were very lucky with the weather and it was great to see 'Poppy'in her garden and a glimpse of Ollie. They also showed the Marengo Community Garden in St Margarets Hope. One of my favourite gardens and a must see if you ever visit.

Just looked up the saying 'under the weather' apparently it goes back to the days of ships with sails when everything was documented in the Captains log, sometimes there were so many sick sailors that the name column would be filled up so names had to be written in the next column which would gave been used fir the weather, hence 'under the weather''.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.