a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Sunshine and showers

Mark did the decent thing and didn't get us up before 9am this morning - he makes a great house guest!  I pulled out the stops and cooked breakfast for them both (Mick had to be woken up by Mark, I think he would have slept on for hours). Cathy chose not to have any, but then commented later that it smelt fabulous - we've since agreed that I will cook the occasional breakfast/brunch as a special treat.  Something new after 30 years of marriage together  :-o

With the lads gone to drive back up to Congelton and Newcastle respectively it was time for us to get on with the chores.  We have the decorator arriving on Monday for a couple of weeks - the hall stairs and landing are being done.  So this afternoon was spent buying the paint and removing the carpet, pictures, blinds, curtain fittings, etc. 

Its been a day of sudden heavy showers.  I narrowly missed getting caught by one when buying the paint.  As it was I was only a bit wet.  30 seconds later and I would have needed a change of clothes when I got home, it was that heavy.

So everything is set, and all we have to do is to live with the inconvenience, dust and paint smells - but the end result will be worth it I am sure.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.