A Dad, a son

Of all the photos I took today I wanted to dedicate this one to my dad. The one who's is being well cared for but due to his health, he couldn't be there with family today..

I never met my grandpa on my dads side but one of the few memories I have of my grandpa on my moms side, was riding in his old green and white Chevy pickup, grandpa on left, my dad on the right and me in the middle.. on a dirt road..  going fishing.. (my grandpa passed away shortly after that)

The time when the family was fishing and only bullhead fish were being caught.. I was told when I caught another one, my words were "hey, I caught another bullsh--"

The time in northern Arizona with my uncle Larry, dad, sister, and.. I caught a beautiful size fish.. All of a sudden my uncle yelled out to duck.. A hawk was going to try and take it from me..

The time in Montana where I promised my dad I would take him fishing. It took two grown men to help my dad in the boat. Nobody was catching anything but about the time we had to go in.. my dad caught a fish..

I will alway hope you will be able to take your grandson out fishing someday. Create the same memories I have with you...

Thanks dad.

I wish I treasured those moments more at the time but as most children do, it was just a part of growing up. Hopefully with faith, a loving family, massive support from friends, you will get healthy enough to take you out for a very berry, an endless root beer float and just maybe.. fishing with your grandson... 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.