The Spirit Moves

I hadn't used my 56mm Fuji lens until today. Daft, I know, but I have a 16-55mm zoom lens which has sufficed. The widest aperture on the 56mm is f1.2. My fault for rushing to get the latest recommended lenses. Many pro photographers reckon they don't get paid for recommendations, but how many of us go out and buy the kit once they've written a blog on how well the kit did? We're sheep.

I had an idea for this week's photo project and wanted to use a wide aperture. This shot was taken at f1.4 and has a lovely bokeh. However, I did discover that you have to be careful to match the shutter speed to the aperture to ensure that you get sharpness where you want it. A steady hand and no movement.

Today's photo is deliberately blurred by using intentional camera movement, turning the focus ring while taking the shot.

What I like is that the figures in the stained glass window appear to be enveloped with flames, a frequent metaphor for the spirit of God. For me, the movement makes the window come 'alive.'

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.