In the Woods

We went down to Bath today to spend the day with Mrs C and the boys.
It was just after 10am when we got to Oxford and I made the mistake of mentioning that there was a McDonalds "just down this road" and if we got there before 10.30am they could have some hash browns as a special treat. 
I went to University in Cardiff so used to drive that way all the time but it's obviously not as familiar as it once was and just down this road turned out to be almost all the way to Swindon!! I was watching the clock tick down and straining my eyes for the golden arches at every roundabout. It was like being on a life and death mission!!
At 10.25 I said that I was sorry but we weren't going to make it. Miss L looked as though I'd just shot a puppy!!
At 10.28 we turned a bend in the road and there it was. Buggar!!
I screeched round the roundabout like a woman possessed and screeched to a halt in the drive-thru. Behind a car apparently ordering everything on the breakfast menu. I may have screamed at them to hurry the **** up suggested calmly and quietly that they should perhaps go slightly faster.
Trying not to sound like Michael Douglas in Falling Down I asked the voice in the intercom were we too late for hash browns.
I'll take your order in one moment came the reply.
Then there was the sound of all the menus being changed.
Because who doesn't want Big Mac and chips at 10.31am?!!!
Arse, arse, arse!!!!!
More in hope than expectation when the voice finally came back and asked could he take my order, I asked again if we were too late for hash browns.
"I have one left" he said.
"I'll take it" I said "And a cup of tea."
Whoop whoop!!!!! 
Half a hash brown each and the Little Misses behaved as if we'd won Olympic gold. There was much squealing and fist pumping!!!!
It was lovely to see Mrs C and the boys once we eventually got there. They played cricket in the garden, had tournaments on the Wii, chased each other round with Nerf guns, ate Mrs C out of house and home and generally had fun.
Later in the afternoon we went for a walk in the gorgeous woods at Claverton Down. There was a fabulous woodland play area with rope swings, wobble beams, stepping logs and rope monkey bars. Just brilliant!!
There was a bit of an incident with another group of kids. Randomly one of the boys challenged Mr L to a fight and he foolishly accepted. So they were fighting away and all the others - including the Little Misses - were standing round in a circle cheering them on. Oh my God!!!
And Archie who was having a lovely time off his lead randomly barked at a child on a seesaw scaring her and making her mummy a bit understandably cross.
We were those people!!!!
So having covered ourselves in glory it was back to Mrs C's for a lovely  dinner, a bit more Wii and Nerf gun action before heading home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.