Five Go Off to Camp

We've come down to South Devon today for our second expedition of the holidays.
Mr K was at work which meant it was up to me to get everything ready and pack the car.  So obviously I stayed in bed until about 10.30am, lazed around for a bit, had a shower, made lunch, watched a bit of TV and then - at about 2pm - thought I'd better make a start!!
Luckily everything was super organised in the garage and it was just a case of getting it all out and putting it in the car. 
I was very pleased with my Tetris packing. Everything neatly in; room for Archie; Little Misses not too wedged in and an empty front seat for me to sit in once we'd picked up Mr K in Oxford.
It all went a bit awry once we actually set off. I popped to Tescos for a few bits and ended up with an overflowing bag for life. When I opened the boot to put it in I discovered that the bag with our clothes in had fallen on top of Archie and he was stuck in a tiny space under it dribbling and looking less than happy.
So the food and the clothes went onto the front seat for Mr K to sort. He managed to re-arrange it all - mostly by wedging the Little Misses in!! And then he wedged himself into the passenger seat with his ridiculously huge work rucksack. 
I carried on driving as the drivers seat was the only spot in the car not crammed full of stuff!
It was a bit of a Groundhog Day journey. We stopped at the same McDonalds near Swindon as yesterday for dinner for the Little Misses. Mr K and I had Subways. 
Once we got past the Bath turn where we turned off yesterday I finally felt as if we were on holiday!!
The journey was very easy for a Friday night. Although I did feel sorry for people going Northbound on the M5. As we sailed past them between Weston-super-Mare and Taunton they were sat in a traffic jam for miles and miles and miles. Apparently it was the worst tailback for forty years. Hideous!!
Tonight we are staying at the lovely Broadleigh Farm Park. Being us we turned up just after 9pm and had to put the tent up in virtual darkness. But it's so quick!! By 9.30pm the Little Misses were all tucked up in their sleeping bags. 
Mr K and I had drinks, made a hot water bottle for me and then got into our sleeping bags too.
Archie thought he'd died and gone to heaven - all of us sleeping in the same place. On the floor!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.