Evening Walk

Too hot to take Archie out again today until 7.30pm. By that time I was well and truly knackered after waking up at 5am and not really stopping all day. 
I had a Sing and Sign birthday party this morning for a two year old I taught before Christmas. I had been working myself up about it a bit, worrying that I'm not a child's entertainer and how was I supposed to entertain a room full of two year olds.
I needn't have worried!! There was only one two year old - the birthday girl - and she enjoyed it! Her older cousin and friends enjoyed it too. I did all the fun songs and there were lots of hopping bunnies, jumping frogs, dingly-dangly Jessie cats. All in the fifty million degree heat out in the garden!
Once my bit was done I left them to the party food and headed to Homesense for a browse - found a bargain flower pot to put one of the Ikea plants into, and Wickes' to look at paint. 
Then it was home for an afternoon doing very little, a sweaty visit to the gym, and an evening walk with Archie.
I was hoping it'd be cooler for him later on. It was marginally less boiling than it had been earlier but he didn't do himself any favours when he decided to channel his inner Spaniel, flush out a couple of partridge and then chase one of them - at a very impressive top speed - at least 200m across the newly harvested field.
I was bellowing at him to stop because the bloody partridge remained a foot in front of him and only a couple of inches above his snapping jaws.
OMFG.
It was like I was re-enacting this. Which is never not funny!!
He disappeared completely out of sight over the other side of the field and my shouts became a blood curdling scream - as if I was being murdered - which finally seemed to work as a second later he appeared on the horizon sprinting back to me as fast as he could.
I could hardly watch as he approached in case there was blood and feathers and bits of partridge dangling from his mouth. Thankfully there was not!!
Behaving like a proud lion back from the hunt he strutted off into the shade for a lie down. 
Idiot dog!!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.