In the River

For the first time in ages we went over to The Kings Arms in Sandford on Thames today. Such a beautiful pub right on the river. We wondered why we hadn't been for ages.
Having just checked back through Blip - so handy!! - it seems we haven't been since March 2015. Unbelievable!!
Armed with our Tescos vouchers and some sun block we got there at Noon and got a lovely table under a giant conker tree outside.
My mum and dad came too with Elsie.
Things didn't get off to a good start - they had no veggie sticks and houmous for Miss L's starter; they didn't have the gin I wanted or the Thai noodle salad I'd chosen. 
Then it got even worse!!
My mum and dad's roast beef dinners came relatively quickly but with no horseradish which was supposed to come with it. The Little Misses' starters came a bit later - lukewarm tomato soup for Miss L. With bread which I luckily checked as it clearly wasn't gluten free.
Then there was a ridiculously long wait for our main courses. My heart sank when I saw a child's roast beef dinner coming along with a giant Yorkshire pudding on top. Despite us obviously having requested the meal without one. FFS.
As our meals had arrived and God only knew how long a replacement meal for Miss L would have taken - it was well over an hour since we'd ordered! - I did something I rarely do: I took the Yorkshire pudding off Miss L's plate and let her eat the rest. Telling the waitress in no uncertain terms how unimpressed I was!!
When we had waited another forty minutes for dessert my mum decided enough was enough and went in to find someone to berate. The pub really wasn't that busy and the crappy service really was ridiculous.
She had to go back fifteen minutes later and this time found a manager.
The manager was horrified at the litany of crapness we'd experienced and refunded the puddings. As we were sitting outside we'd paid the bill at the time of ordering.
I must email Chef and Brewer too to complain (although I bet I won't!!!!) The  tardy service and the lack of items on the menu at Noon (when they open) is one thing, but when it comes to their inability to cater for Miss L I feel furious. It's not good enough!
Once we'd eventually finished - and, to be fair, the food was tasty as usual - we went for a walk along the river and a paddle. It was glorious!!!
The last time the Little Misses went into the river it was in their knickers!!! They look a bit different today!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.