Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

When does the bus come?

The first question they asked was "where is the centre of town?". The "town" was Chollerford, which is a hamlet, but is continuous with Humshaugh, my village. They were exhausted after 4 hours of walking from Corbridge.

In fairness, they had flow from Amsterdam early this morning and it was now 4.45pm and they were tired, damp and hungry.

Chollerford has houses and that's all. Humshaugh has a pub, but that was half a mile away and they were staying at Acomb in the opposite direction! We looked at the timetable and a bus was due at 5pm.

I continued my walk - my first walk since the dentistry - and went home quickly to pick up the car. They were not at the bus stop, but I drove on towards Wall "just in case".  It was a good thing, because they were at the next bus stop and no bus had appeared. So, I drove them to Acomb.

I hope that someone gives them a lift back to Chollerford in the morning, or they may be rather tired before they start their walk. They have 3 nights at The Sill, our newly opened Visitor Centre and Youth Hostel at Once Brewed. I hope they have a great time over the next few days.

I had cabin fever today and was desperate to get out. I tried once, but the heavens opened before I reached the gate and I retreated. Later I found that a lot of dog walkers were out, presumably they had been waiting for a break in the weather too. The good news is that I no longer have pain with every step.

PS And before anyone says anything, I did not mention that walking in jeans is definitely not recommended in our climate!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.