Linköping, Sweden - Playing Tourist

The weather forecast today was not good, with a lot of rain first thing, but I decided it was a good day to go into the centre of Linköping and explore the city a bit. Elisabet and Alice had errands and things to do at home so Elisabet dropped me off near the centre and I walked the rest of the way in.

Linköping is Sweden's 5th largest city, but very compact and easy to explore in a few hours. Although many of the old houses have been moved to Gamla (old) Linköping, the outdoor museum, there are still traditional buildings to admire. See extra photos for more views.

This main picture is of the Cathedral, which was completed in 1520. I have visited before and we attended a service there last week. It is very beautiful inside, especially the ornate pulpit (see extras).

I had lunch at Babette's, a sourdough bakery, which included a large sandwich AND a kanelbullar, the delicious Swedish cinnamon bun. There was more exploring after lunch, a tiny bit of shopping, and in the evening Elisabet joined me and we had dinner in one of the outdoor restaurants on the main square. The grey damp weather had cleared and it was a beautifully warm sunny evening, so lots of people were enjoying the evening sun while eating dinner or having after work drinks.

Poor Alice, when we finally got home she was overjoyed to see her mum, but I'm afraid I got a bit of the cold shoulder. I think she was upset about me leaving ALL day!

See Alice's blip here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.