Haikography

By JanBee

Into the sunset?

This is a sculpture my Dad made a few years ago of a WW2 airman walking back to base at the end of a long mission, constantly looking up at the sky to see if his comrades had returned ....

It sits on our sideboard next to a lamp with a reddish shade .... I loved the way the light caught the contours of his backpack and uniform and looked like the sunset.

My Dad was an engineer in the RAF in the war and many of his sculptures feature airmen ... one of his other favourite subjects was Don Quixote and Sancho Panza..... as well as some of the family.

Sadly Dad is now too old to do sculpture, but we have many of his sculptures around the house and I treasure them all.

Here are some others I have blipped:

Reading
Don Quixote
Tortoise

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.