BOOK

Todays theme for the August Photo Challenge is " Book " - but I couldn't choose so here are 4 of them.  My late husband was a book collector and I have over 40 Biggles books.  Most of them have lost their colourful dust jackets but I picked out 4 of the ones which still have them.

James Bigglesworth, nicknamed "Biggles", is a fictional pilot and adventurer - the title character and hero of the Biggles series of  books written for young readers by Capt WE Johns (1893–1968). The first Biggles books were published in 1932 and Johns continued  to write until his death. The series eventually spanned nearly a hundred volumes – including novels and short story collections.

Apart from the Biggles books Johns also wrote novels about Captain Lorrington "Gimlet" King and Flight Officer Joan Worralson, better known as "Worrals".  I do have a few books featuring these two characters.

I have spent the day at home just getting on with household chores and a bit of gardening.  I also listened to the match on the radio.  Newcastle were away at Huddersfield.  Newcastle lost 1 - 0.  At the moment the Newcastle team are just not up to Premiership standard.  Fingers crossed things get better - and soon.

The weather was nice again today - sunny and quite warm.  Still windy but not as bad as the last few days.

Steps today - 6,661

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.