Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Water

Did you see this female Ruddy Ground-Dove?  It's quite unusual for it to be seen north of Mexico; a first for me!

My Mono Monday entry photo was taken at Sahuarita Lake.  It's a man-made body of water that is stocked for fishing.  There's a sidewalk encircling the 1 mile circumference of the lake which is very popular for runners, walkers, cyclists and skaters.

Before I moved to Arizona, I always lived near large bodies of water.  I grew up in Hamburg, NY (just south of Buffalo) which is located on Lake Erie.  I spent a lot of time on its beaches with my family when I was young and with my friends when I was older. 

In Maryland, I lived on a peninsula surrounded by the Potomac River, Patuxent River and Chesapeake Bay.  I spent hours watching sailboats, sitting on a dock throwing crab pots into the water to collect blue crabs  and sleeping in tents at the environmental center on the Bay with my sixth graders.

Sahuarita Lake is the only water anywhere near me.  To say I miss living near the liquid stuff is a huge understatement.

Thanks to Nickimags888 for hosting.

Edit:  Just watched the complete solar eclipse on television and online. Pretty amazing.  We had about 60% totality in Tucson (had my glasses).  It didn't get very dark but the temperature dropped noticeably.  Very, very cool (the eclipse, not the temperature).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.