A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Gated farewell.

We were woken by bright early morning sunshine, the first morning without mist.

After breakfast we had a last look around Hartington, visiting St Giles church where the first vicar listed was Alexander de Wighton in 1298! We then headed to the cheese shop which has been closed on our evening wanders. We bought local varieties, Stilton from Hartington, Peakland White and Hartington Bomber!

Time to leave so we elected to take the only road out of the village we hadn't tried which warned that it was gated. I remember gated roads in the Yorkshire Dales when I was a child and we used to vie to open them to get a penny tip. On the second one I opened Chris was at the right side so I put my hand out for a tip. I got 10p. On the third one was this sign which I just loved so it had to be my blip. We were lucky on the next two gates as first a cyclist held it open and then a couple of walkers. I offered them both my 10p tip but they happily declined.

We headed north to Bakewell which I have briefly visited before. Had coffee at the Original Bakewell Pudding shop. Too full from breakfast to eat one but we did buy a couple to take home. These are puddings not tarts you can see them in the bottom r. hand corner of the window in the extra. They were apparently originally made by accident as someone misunderstood the instructions. You're supposed to have them warm with custard.

Our last stop was Buxton. Very much like Harrogate I felt which isn't surprising being a spa. Chris said it reminded him of Bath for similar reasons. When passing the renovation work of The Crescent and St Anne's Well pump room we read that The Crescent had originally been built by the 5th Duke of Devonshire, William Cavendish, to rival Bath. The original cost £41,000 to build in the 18th century and the renovation to create a luxury 5 star hotel is costing 50 million!

Back through the High Peak with very different Pennine gritstone scenery and lots of lovely purple heather. Saw hardly any heather further south due no doubt to the limestone.

I've really enjoyed the White Peak, very different and a delight to find so much wildlife and open country as well as pretty towns and villages so near to many major conurbations.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.