A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Little Weed -

In sunny Settle
Another lover warm and sunny day so we decided to go back to Settle and see a few more of the flower pots, this time without the rain.

We had bought the Town Centre  and Lower Settle and River walk guides but abandoned the second one due the bad weather on Friday.

We started this time with coffee at the Naked Man and then followed the route around the back of the town and down to the river. One of the pleasures of doing this has been discovering nooks and crannies of this town that we would never see. Settle is on the River Ribble and as well as the limestone crags that surround the town there are view to Pen y Ghent from various places.

This is one reason why I chose this one for my blip. I like the sun shining on Bill and Ben with Little Weed behind (a nick name when I was a child!) but I also,like,the distant view of Pen y Ghent beyond the river.

My next favourite was the dog chasing the cat up the tree - see Flickr 

We had fish and chips again for a late lunch and seated at a different table we noticed the sign for Senior Citizen's Special. Better size portions and cheaper, but still excellent - result. That's our quota for this month. Didn't buy any cakes this time though - honest!

The festival finishes at the end of August so the Upper Settle route may be one to consider if there is another festival next year.


I've added more to my Flickr album here if you are interested

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.