Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

The Cavalry are coming!

I've been at home today and editing some of yesterday's photos from Bellingham Show.

This afternoon I went for a walk around the village. I called in at Chesters Fort which is very close by. I wanted to see the new sculpture, Cavalry 360, which was installed this year as part of a big celebration of Roman Cavalry at many sites along Hadrian's Wall.

Jerry Caesar's sensory installation mimics the sound of the horses' hooves as they gallop into the fort.


Quoting from English Heritage: Cavalry 360˚ is a bespoke piece of work designed to connect visitors with the environment. It is vast: at 12 metres diameter and 3.5 metres tall the installation is unlike anything ever created on the Hadrian’s Wall World Heritage Site. Yet it is also graceful – and mesmeric. 32 wind driven turbines are arranged in 16 pairs – the number of barrack blocks in the fort. Each pair drives 30 beaters representing a cavalry Turma within each barrack. As the wind rises and falls combinations of turbines, each like a running horses, generate an ever changing equine rhythm.


 Maybe it's just me, but I was underwhelmed by it. There was a breeze but the turbines hardly moved most of the time. Then the clackety sound of the hooves could be heard. Perhaps I should return in a storm!

It's not even very attractive.

There is no disabled access so we have ageed that I won't try to get Mum to the site.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.