Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Sometimes you just have to join in!

Today it was Bellingham Show, one of my favourites. I wanted to be there to add work to two projects: one is the North of Tyne photo group's project on musicians and the second is the RPS Documentary Group's (Northern region) project on country shows.

I knew there would be a competition for Northumbrian pipers. They took some locating in the large show ground. The organisation of the show was pretty good, but a few maps around the place might have helped. In the event, only one person turned up to compete and was awarded first place in the Intermediate Class.

After the "competition" the judge, an official, the winner and this lady came outside the tent to play. They stood in full sun and were not tempted by my idea to move into the shade.

The Irish wolf hound is obviously used to participating.........!

I photographed small children on tiny ponies, dogs and their owners, the tea tent, the fell race, Cumberland wrestling, stunt bike riders, boys in tanks (yes), competition winners and so it went on. I had great chats with people on the way around and enjoyed  my day to the full.

Now the computer hard disk says it is too full, so I have to start moving some photos elsewhere. Sigh!

It was a sunny day with little wind, so it brought out local families.

My first extra is another photographer, Jackie, who is in our photo club. She won two cups for her photos. She is standing in front of her mono winner. The second is yet another photographer, Ailsa, who is in the North of Tyne Group, but today was showing her prize zwartbles.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.