A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

First cardigan finished.

Since getting back from Derbyshire I've been making this little 'first cardigan' set. I admit I've used up leftover wool but as it's first size I don't think it will be worn much - if at all.
As it was the Bank Holiday weekend I hadn't time to get out for some buttons but I thought I would bring the set anyway and try to get some here.

We are down in Bristol for a few days bringing some of the things we've been storing and to help out with a few jobs Grace needs to get done. The first one was to get here intime to get her to an appointment at 3.00 pm as they are temporarily without a car. We waited across the road in a pub (I had tea honest)

Whist waiting I was reading a local area magazine and saw a fabric shop which my google app told me was 2 mins away on foot. So off I went. A wonderful fabric, wool and haberdashery shop. I explained how I found out about it as I purchased my buttons and told them what a lovely shop it was. A rather grumpy customer in front of me was begrudgingly buying something his wife had requested him to get and saying what a waste of time patchwork was unlike fishing which he said was his hobby. He had heard me say I was from Yorkshire and he commented that it was along way to come and called me a  'grockle'. I've heard this term used before in the West Country. I think it is the equivalent to someone in Yorkshire being called an 'off cumd'en' but son in law John, from Bath, had never heard of it!

Any way I'm pleased with the buttons and the set is now finished. If you think the colour isn't PC I can assure you I have some blue wool ready for another garment and there will be lots of colours put to use in future.

Just waiting for Grace and John to come back from a look around the hospital and then we are walking up to a nearby pub for a meal. Fortunately the hospital is very near too and they have walked.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.