Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

What! No Water?

Poor thing.  I filled the dishes before dawn but it was the middle of the day and the water had either been:
1. All splashed out
2. Sucked up by other birds
3. Evaporated
4. All of the above

From mid-August through September, the Lesser Long-nosed bat migrates through my area on its way to Mexico and South America. During this time, I have to  place the hummingbird feeders on a lower table after the hummingbirds are done for the night. That's because the bats (which weigh less than 20 g, are about 7 cm long and have a wingspan of 35 cm) suck the feeders completely dry. Last night I left them up, so these endangered mammals would have a feast.

I wanted to get a good look at them so I  turned on the small light and opened the glass and screen doors.  There were dozens of them. One flew at me, not more than a foot away from my face.  I whipped the doors closed because I thought one might fly into the house.  Not the top of my bucket list.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.