Desperation

It may have been a rotten summer here in Edinburgh, but if it hasn't exactly been an active one for me in reality thanks to the weather, then I have certainly made up for it in watching global sport.
There was some research done recently by boffins into the extra amount of calories used up by couch potatoes watching other people break sweat. It seemed to prove the case that looking at sport on the TV did indeed use up extra energy.

This is good news to me when I played endless games of tennis during Wimbledon, climbed steep hills on a bike in France during Le Tour, long jumped, high jumped and sprinted in the World Athletic Championships and currently exhaust myself riding with Chris Froome to victory in La Vuelta in Spain while keeping up with team Sky in the finish of the Tour of Britain and running down the motorway from Gateshead to South Shields behind Mo Farah.
I am not forgetting either to cheer on Mark Beaumont as he starts day71 in his bid to cycle the world in 80 days.
It takes a lot of dedication to the television set, I can tell you especially as an irritating bleep on my Apple Watch is a precursor to a message to 'stand up and move around a little'. How very dare it!

All this addictive sport watching leaves little room for eye catching blips. Bear with me today while I get ready to stand on the podium with Chris.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.