Not a Whale...!

Today we spent a lovely afternoon on a whale-watching trip from Provincetown here in Cape Cod. We were very lucky: we saw 2 Humpback Whales, about 15 Minke Whales, and even a Mola Mola fish (no, I'd never heard of them either, but see here - they're amazingly different!).

I took loads of photos on rapid fire and came back with hundreds of photos of whales' backs with their dorsal fin. But I didn't manage any faces or tails, or a decent photo of the Mola Mola.

Happily we saw a large pod of over 50 Common Dolphins (see main blip) and I managed some nice photos of some Great Shearwater birds and their reflections (see extra) - they were flying low alongside the ship a lot of the time. My long lens came into its own (though I'd have probably got a decent photo of the Mola Mola if I hadn't been too close to it for that lens...!)

I reckon these qualify my blip for Wild Wednesday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.