Where the Light Gets In

By DHThomas

Hanging

community work
can take photographic form
time travel triptychs

I took part in the current exhibition in the nearby village where I belong in a theatre troupe and a choir group. At the beginning of July, I photographed streets and squares in the village to match, as much as possible, postcards dating as far back as 1905. Apart from the extreme heat we had then (close to 40C), it was a fun walk, trying to find first the buildings then the angles at which they had been photographed back then.

Thursday was the day of the hanging of the photos. At the top is a blown up version of the postcards, then two versions of my photos, one in mono, one in colour. My photos also figure in other parts of the exhibition, namely street names plaques and remarkable monuments. It's a bit strange, still, to have my pics hung like that - and seen by strangers. Of course this time it's not my more personal work, but you could argue that, strictly speaking, it is street photography! It's how I wrote things in my short bio, anyway! :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.