Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

A Snail's Pace

I must say that SIL and I were both less than motivated to move any more wood this morning, opting to do a little housework instead.  She headed out to a barbeque with friends and I headed out with my camera (making up for yesterday's lack of camera time.).  I had a lovely macro safari around the yard, paying special attention to the many creatures on the goldenrod flowers.  But it was this tiny snail that caught my eye for today's blip.

I'm sure this wee thing will grow into something bigger and potentially eat lots of greenery, but it was soooo small and soooo cute that it had to be photographed.  Of course, at first it tucked it's little attenna in and stubbornly refused to do anything cute.  But not one to be deterred, I sat myself down and waited...to be rewarded with this.  I like the very shallow DOF on this, even though the snail is not fully in focus front to back.  No chance to focus stack since it was moving surprisingly quickly...for a snail's pace.

I posted two other shots on Flickr starting HERE - a yellow-jacket wasp perfectly accessorized and the second Magnolia Warbler I've seen this week.  

Good visit with MIL who was yucking it up with one of her buddies there.  I left them drinking "wine" (grape juice) and giggling.  

Hubs has had a great weekend racing, I'm happy to report.  The car, as of several hours ago was still running, even after a few semi-major repairs during the race.  Most importantly, Hubs has had some well-deserved fun.  

Tomorrow begins another week...marching ever closer to fall.

xo
debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.