The second half of life..

By twigs

Murmurings of a murmuration

The starlings have been gathering in growing numbers these past few days.  At the end of last week I just missed out on capturing the beginnings of a murmuration.  Only a few hundred birds, but clear evidence of some aerial wizardry was developing overhead.  Sadly, by the time I'd gone inside, grabbed my camera and returned, they'd relocated or dispersed.

This evening another, smaller group was forming and I managed to get a few grab shots.  Whilst I don't expect the numbers to grow to this scale or this scale, I'm hoping they will grow to something a bit bigger.  I've seen this phenomenon twice here in Nelson.....once in 2009 and once in 2013.........would be lovely to witness it again.  We'll see.......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.