An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

A Bright Spark...

Backblip

Among the autumnal shades.

Carrying on from where I left off on yesterday's blip, David got Lola settled in her crate but 15 minutes later she was barking again.  We knew she didn't need the loo and was comfortable and had Goldie and her blankie, so we decided the time had come to let her be and bark herself to sleep.

Surprisingly, David and I fell asleep almost immediately that decision had been made, but Eleanor and Kenny were able to tell us she had barked for quite a while before finally settling.  Oh well she settled in the end, that's the main thing, and was fine this morning.

Ele will be here at the weekend to help with Lola while David is away so she got some good training on Lola's routine today.  Lola had some lovely time in the garden with us all and was exhausted afterwards.

After brunch of bacon rolls and coffee, and a bottle of single malt for Kenny's birthday (given, not actually part of brunch :-) Ele and Kenny helped David move some furniture out of the old dining room (soon to be Alan's sitting room) in preparation for the decorators coming on Tuesday.  We've just decided on the wallpaper for that room so don't have it yet, so they will have to start elsewhere, in one of the rooms I have the paper for.   

Ele and Kenny left around 2.30pm and as it was still lovely outside, I took the chance to grab my camera and have a wander in the garden.  I would have preferred my macro lens but retrieving it would have meant waking a sleeping Lola and we all know you should let sleeping dogs lie (I  would also have woken David who was also having a snooze :-) so I didn't bother.

It was such a lovely day and after my wander I thought about going to sit in the Gin Palace but the wasps nest (or whatever it is) is near there so thought I better avoid it incase Lola came out, as she is very interested in flying buzzy things.

Wasn't long back inside when the weather turned grey and there was a shower of rain.  Despite my life long experience of Scottish weather, it never ceases to amaze me how quickly it can turn from being a pleasant afternoon to utter misery.  Thankfully it can change back again just as quickly.

Had dinner then spent some time editing my photos from today.  This took forever, which is very frustrating.  Laptop going really slow again.  

Lola went to bed without any issue (treats helped :-) but was barking within 15 minutes.  David left her for 15 minutes then went downstairs and took her out just incase she needed the loo.  She did.  Back in crate, settled and barking again within 15 minutes.  Again we knew she was fine so decided to leave her.  

I was more awake than last night and noted she barked for about about 15 minutes again before going quiet for about 5 minutes then barking again.  She stopped and started another twice before I finally fell asleep and that was the last we heard till she woke us with her barking at 7.15am. 

Hoping she will now realise that after toilet and settle, she won't be getting any more attention till the morning (unless of course we have any concerns.)  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.