But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Wax Roses.

My very good friend, Janes11 was due to pick me up at 7:45 a.m. prompt to take me to Ayr for a bee keeping convention, At 8:00 I had a text saying she was running late and then at 8:15 a call asking if I could pick her up as she had broken down. That was about the time that it stopped raining and the sun showed signs of waking up. By the time we arrived in Ayr, the sun was beating down and we had missed both coffee and the introductory talk; apart from missing the coffee, it was probably the ideal time to arrive.
 
There were two very good talks by noted researchers in the field, one of which was about what is killing our bees. The American speaker asked us what we thought the problem was; I suspect he was rather surprised that the consensus was that most people thought the main reason that their own colonies die is as a result of mistakes they make. Not agro-chemicals, not weather, and not disease. I wondered if the thousand Scottish bee keepers who weren’t there would agree.
 
As well as the lectures, there was the honey show with the best entry not being a jar of honey, but this bunch of roses made of wax. While they looked really good, they don’t photograph well as the wax has none of the texture of real petals; however, from where I was standing, they did merit the award.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.