Two physicists (or runners)

Mr hazelh had been looking forward to this evening for some time as an opportunity to hear Jim Al-Khalili deliver a public lecture. He also knew that he had a good chance of meeting his fellow physicist since I was the one who had been asked to introduce the speaker at the event. My blip shows the pair of them discussing their passion for running just before the auditorium doors were opened to the rest of Jim's audience.

The lecture came at the end of a very busy day for me, packed with teaching and meetings. It was with some relief that I sat down after my short welcome speech and settled into tweeting the formal proceedings of the lecture (#Napier400).

A drinks reception followed Jim's talk. This gave everyone the chance to speak to him, have books signed, and/or take a selfie with him. Mr hazelh and I also enjoyed some more time chatting with Jim before we waved him off in a taxi back to his hotel.

It's been a wonderful evening :-)

The extra is a formal picture taken by the University photographer of Jim framed by the two people who opened and closed his lecture: my mother! me and Winsford.

Exercise today: walking to work, then from one campus to another (20,935 steps)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.