Engineer in the making?

I thought I'd get up at 8 today, but my body had other plans and I didn't wake until 8.45. Once up, I took bracken straight out.

Henry rose about 9.45 with gentle prodding from me. He needed a haircut. We eventually got out at about 10.30 but there were long queues at the usual place. I left him to sit and wait at the other one and went off around the market and all the charity shops. I was looking for some 4ply white and black wool. My friend Sandra at work has given me a pattern to knit little tiny penguins. I got a big ball of white from the market for £1.60 but no black. I tried the charity shops with no luck and the wool shop wanted £3.80. 4 ply is hard to get hold of, but I'll look in Norwich next week.

Henry neatly shorn, but unhappy with how his lovely hair curls on top, even when it has just been cut. We had a nice French stick for lunch and then got to work on the lawnmower. I can't remember whether I mentioned it. I don't know how old it is, kindly donated by a friend, but Henry wants to do mechanical engineering after GCSEs, so starting with this engine was our plan. He spent the afternoon carefully taking bits off and cleaning and oiling. We didn't get it going, but are both learning.

At 5 we went out to Cromer to buy a new spark plug. The men in Halfords were very helpful. Then to No.1 for fish and chips which we ate at the end of the pier. The weather was very calm and I could sit and look at that view out to sea for hours. We then spent a few 2ps in the arcade, before heading home. Now it's Strictly and a relaxing evening.

It has been lovely spending the day with my youngest. I think we are a lot alike. I hope he felt the same!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.