Busy Sunday

It is still just the two of us, so this morning I took Henry to archery, which is normally a father & son activity. The weather was gorgeous as you can see, and I took a cup of tea and a chair to enjoy as spectator. I was pleased with this photo - if you look between the posts, you can see Henry's arrow, gliding towards the target.

Back home we had coffee in the garden, then Henry went back to the engine. He has spent a bit of his own money on various things to try and get it going. Yesterday a new spark plug, and today the additive you need to put in unleaded fuel. That was expensive. There is still work to do to get it going. Next weekend Jon is here, but I'm away. I know he is keen for it to just 'go' but the learning comes from the working things out, the trial and error. He needs to check out google now, to understand the basics of an engine.

I did half the ironing, more washing and after lunch we walked up to the allotment. Our allotment neighbours were there, so we had a chat. Back home, Henry cut the grass and I tidied a bit in the back garden, and potted up some strawberry runners. There is so much to do. I wish I could get home earlier in the week.

Then we had a go at making a Swiss roll. Not anything I've done before, but I liked the look of it on the free Tesco magazine. We had limited success. It split when I unrolled it, but still tasted fine, even in bits.

It's dark now, so I'm going to slow down a bit. We've eaten and washed up. I've made a salad for my lunch tomorrow. I'm waiting to hear from Jon. I expect he won't be home until gone midnight.

A bit of tv now, plus a card to make. My weekend has gone too quickly, but I think I've got through quite a few necessary jobs. A 4 day week for me now, and a weekend away to look forward to. It's going to be a good week, I'm sure!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.