Bumper harvest

The thing I really wanted to do today, was get back out to pick more blackberries. This is the bumper crop I collected - just over 2lb added to my 11oz from yesterday. I’m freezing them as I’d like to make jam or jelly and don’t have the time at the moment.

The morning was spent sorting out my summer clothes to go back in the loft. I also filled a charity bag with things I haven’t worn for a few summers, or things that don’t fit. We drove two bags full to Cromer and then once back home, Jon then spent more time in the garage working on the new wall and doorframe. It is so much better with lots of light, yesterdays jobs have really made a difference. I did the ironing and caught up with Vanity Fair. At least that was a job I could do sitting down. We had a sit down together in the conservatory for a planning things and coffee break. We want to have a party for our 30th Wedding Anniversary next year. It can’t be fancy ( I already did some enquiries with local hotels and have had to reduce my expectations - all way mire than we can afford) So we’ve made a plan and Jon is going to ask if the scout hut is free on the late May bank holiday weekend. If it is, then I’m going to start thinking about making invitations. I’ve had an offer of help there. It’s a way off, but nice to have something to plan for. We’d like a bit of a holiday or long weekend away just the two of us, for our anniversary weekend, but after getting fancy ideas of Rome, Paris or a short cruise, I’m now looking at a little uk road trip. There are lots of places we haven’t been to, and one of them is Bath. So I’m going to start planning that too. It means making lists - and I’m really good at that!!

After the ironing, I found my college photos to take with me next weekend. I do wish I had some nice outfits. I tried to pack my bag, but wasn’t inspired by anything in my wardrobe. I guess it will be a Wednesday night rush job! I still haven’t got back in the loft to go through my winter clothes, but will do it after The Archers. My bed is piled up with summer things so I have to do it tonight.

It has been a good weekend. I’d like to write a poem about the blackberry picking - but I think I wrote one a few years ago that was an autumn one on that theme. I’ll see if anything springs to mind.

It has rained on and off all day and I am away the next two weekends which I am really excited about, so any more jobs that I’ve missed, will just have to wait - especially the garden.

An early bath is planned so that we can focus 110% on the Bodyguard.....along with 90% of the rest of the country!!

Yes. It has been a good weekend. Tiring, but good! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.