Whats all this about? - you may be wondering.

Well its a long story.

It begins at Logan Airport, Boston on Wednesday evening.  I was with Betsey and T and we were just about to say our Goodbye's before I passed through security.  All of a sudden some guy just crashed into me and knocked me to the ground.  He made a quick apology and kept on going.  An airport worker helped me to my feet and asked if I needed medical assistance.  I declined.  I really felt Ok.  A bit shook up but not hurt in any way. 

So I carried on through security, caught my flight to Heathrow and connecting flight to Newcastle and then taxi home.  Still no after effects from my tumble. A bruise had appeared on my left arm but it wasn't really painful.   I figured I had " got away with it".  I was fine on Friday too,  On Saturday I had a few twinges in my back but nothing much. 

However this afternoon I bent over to pick something up and ................. WHAM - excruciating pain in my back towards the left side. I was in agony every time I moved.  Didn't know what to do.

Phoned Neil.  He said to go to hospital.  He said go to the Royal Victoria Infirmary in Newcastle as it was easier for him to get to - he insisted he was going to be there with me.  So I got a taxi to the hospital.  Booked in.  A notice said there would be a 4 hour wait.  Neil and his girlfriend arrived.  Then a nurse said I should go to Minor Injuries - there would be less of a wait there.

In the end I had to wait around an hour but it wasn't too bad as I had Neil and Rachael to talk to.  I saw a nice lady doctor who asked lots of questions and examined me.  She told me I had a bruise on my back which would be causing some of the pain.  AND she diagnosed Facet Joint Displacement.  I asked her to write that down and explain it.  You can see her note in my blip. I had to Google when I got home.  Its to do with the bony bit of the vertebra in your spine being damaged ( or something ).  This is whats causing the most pain.

Treatment.................painkillers and more painkillers.  That's the docs notes in my blip  - I need to take paracetamol, ibuprofen and codeine.  Luckily I have all of those at home already. I still get terrible pain when I move but hopefully the pain will ease as the days go on.  But no Fitness Class for me tomorrow.  I need to rest - but try and keep moving gently so I don't stiffen up.  Its going to be worse after a nights sleep the doc said - I will probably take an hour to " get going " in the morning.  Something to look forward to then!!

I decided to get the bus home - I figured a slow walk to the bus stop would be beneficial.  Neil and Rachael accompanied me to the bus stop - and I was fortunate that I caught a bus straight away.

And to top off the day Newcastle United lost.  I was supposed to listen to the game on the radio but missed it as I was at the hospital  They were playing away at Brighton and lost 1 - 0.

Steps today - 4,869

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.