An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Pretty Please Mum...

Backblip


Lola knows she's not allowed on the footstool but she thinks front paws and pretty face only doesn't count! 

Lola woke up at 5.20am.  Ele took her out to do her business.  I waited in the hope she would go back to sleep but no joy.  

I got up to get her breakfast ready and knew immediately Alan's cold had me firmly in its grip.  I had a temperature, going hot and cold, was shaking, felt weak, chest sore and completely congested, head pounding and no voice whatsoever.  

Ele was outside with Lola so I sneaked into the utility room to prepare her breakfast.  Thought I was going to faint.  

Ele and Lola came back in and as Lola tucked into her breakfast Ele sent me back to bed as we knew Lola would fall asleep after she'd eaten and Gail was here to help out if Ele needed her.  I gratefully went back to bed and fell into a sound sleep till almost 10am.

Once I was showered I felt a little bit brighter but had zero energy.  Agnes joined Gail, Ele and I for lunch and I was thankful it was the easy option of italian meats, salad and cheese.  This was Agnes' first time meeting Lola and she is smitten.  I wasn't fit for much other than sitting in a corner watching everything take place around me.

Just before it was time for Alan's dinner (thankfully the cold he's passed on to me hasn't affected him quite so badly) Ashleigh his support worker came through to give me the great news that his tummy tube was blocked and she couldn't get any milk down it.  It was just what I needed to hear.  Tried all the usual tricks to unblock it; flush it with warm water, fizzy cola, pull backwards on the syringe but nothing worked.  With a sinking heart I realised the tube would need to be changed.  David normally does it of course he's in Portugal.  

I know what to do I just haven't done it and feeling like I did, wasn't sure I had the energy to stand long enough to attempt it.  Decided to phone the out of hours District Nurse who's number I have for this exact situation.

Two of them arrived a short while later.  Rachel and Diane, and what lovely nurses they were.  When she realised we had Lola, Diane was in seventh heaven.  She has three golden retrievers and was showing Alan and I photos of them on her phone.  Once they had replaced Alan's tube ) he was such a flirt with them!) they couldn't wait to meet Lola and of course fell in love with her.

My nephew Andrew's girlfriend Nikki arrived with the ingredients to make sausage casserole for tea.  I could have kissed her.  Gail and Agnes headed home and I dozed on the corner till my dinner was ready.  So lovely to have it made and served up.  

Nikki left about 11 pm and we got Lola into her crate.  Not a peep from her and I fell into bed at 11.30pm.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.