Mistress of the Web

I've stopped two mornings in a row at Bernel Road Park, not far from the airport, to enjoy the webs and mist. We've had some amazingly moist mornings, and everything has been damp with dew. And covered in spider webs!

In fact, I'm issuing a ruling, which I seldom do: Bernel Road Park is THE best place I know of to find beautiful spider webs on these misty mornings. I should know. I've been out looking.

This park also has some very cool playground equipment: see here and here. Yes, I'm guilty as charged, of playing on it! And the park abuts a pasture with horses in it, next to an old farm property. So much to see and do. So many photo ops.

Yesterday, I knew my photo for the day HAD to be the monarch chrysalis getting ready to give birth to a brand new butterfly. Because of that, I didn't get to use any of my morning web shots.

So on this morning, this web addict went back to Bernel Road for a second shot. Actually for more than a HUNDRED shots. You know how I am. :-) A monarch with dew on its antennae welcomed me to the park. I knew it was going to be a good day. The place was full of milkweed with all the leaves chewed off. (Go, monarch caterpillars, go!)

I am a lover of the webs, and I go everywhere searching for them this time of year. I like to kneel down in the grass to get a better shot; position the web between the light and my camera, to make it shine. (Yes, there is a technique even to shooting webs.)

I will issue a fair warning, though. And take this from one who knows. Exercise caution. For those who kneel down with webs may stand up with spider bites! So keep an eye out.

The smallest web I saw was just a few inches wide. The largest was several feet, strung high in the air. Some of the webs held spiders. In others, no spider was visible.

This particular web impressed me with its size and artistry. And better yet, the spider itself made an appearance. I believe she is a banded garden spider, Argiope trifasciata. Look at that lovely green and yellow stripey body! Well done, Mistress of the Web!

The soundtrack: Joan Osborne, with Spider Web.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.