Bronze Ball

This is one of the things that survived the downsizing. It is a large bronze casting of leaves with golden flowers, about eight inches in diameter. When we were young we had a couple of family friends whom we called "Aunt..." and "Uncle..." though they were not related. One couple was Aunt Marybelle and Uncle Rex Barton. They gave the bronze ball to my dad for his birthday one year. It was something that they had found during their extensive travels, perhaps from China. Dad really liked it so he mounted it on a large piece of California Jade and put a light inside. In a dark room it makes really interesting shadows. I like it also so when I was choosing things to bring with me to the new house, this made the cut. It sits on the counter in my kitchen.

Today was book group and I made my usual Trader Joe's frozen croissants to bring for lunch. I love these because they come ready to thaw and let rise and then bake fresh.

I enjoyed my friends though the conversation got very political due to the book that everybody (but me and at least one other gal) had read. I was very happy when the topic changed.

As we all headed home, Lynn and Helen came with me to the lake house to see what an amazing job Fran and her crew have done to prepare for the estate sale. The sale is next weekend, Friday, Saturday and Sunday from 10 to 4. It should be a doozy. I think both gals plan to come back next weekend to score some of the items in the sale.

Steve came over for dinner later in the day. We played Carcassonne and it was my turn to beat him two games. Last time it was his turn. No. We don't plan it that way. It's just how it works out sometimes. It's always good to see Steve. He has to drive now to get to my new house instead of walking like before. I'm glad he's willing to do that.

I had a good day. Hope you did, or are having one, too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.