a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Belated

We visited Southampton today for a belated birthday 29th lunch with our son James and his fiancee Katy.  They are due to get married next year and the arrangements are in full swing.  Needless to say, we went by car as I will never be able to persuade Cathy to sit on the back of a motorbike.  She's tried it once and its definitely not for her.

It was good to catch up and find them both happy and doing well.  

We're not quite sure how we can be old enough to have a 29 year old child, and I'm sure that neither of us feel any older than our early forties (although there is the occasional ache or pain now and again that might perhaps suggest otherwise).

This was taken with the little Fuji, which is much more convenient to take along to a restaurant for lunch than the DSLR.  I've managed to get them to grin at me, by nattering away at them whilst trying to ensure that the camera settings were going to work.  I can't remember what inane babble I came out with, but as you can see, it appears to have done the trick - from the look of fond amusement on my son's face. I would normally tend to produce a portrait as a mono, and indeed, I had mono in mind when I took the shot.  But I preferred this one in colour at the end of the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.