Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Antelope Slot Canyon

The final stop on our (fabulous) tour took us to Antelope Slot Canyon near Page, Arizona.  We rode jeeps down a 2 mile sand road to the entrance.

The Navajo name for Upper Antelope Canyon is Tsé bighánílíní, which means "the place where water runs through rocks."

Antelope Canyon was formed by erosion of Navajo Sandstone, primarily due to flash flooding. Rainwater, especially during monsoon season, runs into the extensive basin above the slot canyon sections, picking up speed and sand as it rushes into the narrow passageways. Over time the passageways are eroded away, making the corridors deeper and smoothing hard edges in such a way as to form characteristic 'flowing' shapes in the rock. Flooding in the canyon still occurs.

This photograph  ( bigger) was taken looking at the ceiling slightly ahead of me.  I could have taken a shot every five feet and gotten something unique.  It was a pretty incredible place, walking through a canyon, wide enough for only two people to pass.  I'd like to go during peak viewing season (April-August) when beams of light shoot through the passageway.

PS - I previewed 9 shots before I settled on this one.  I'll try to pick another to add to my blipfolio.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.