Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

A harvest hamper

A group of children from our local First School arrived today with a harvest hamper for Mum. I was on my exercise bike and had the radio on loud so that I could hear it above the noise of the bike, consequently I did not hear the doorbell. I did not know they were there until I heard the singing!

I dashed downstairs in time to say goodbye to them. The children were delightful. I did watch with some amusement as one large boy handed the box he was carrying to a much smaller girl to carry. I think he was finding it heavy!

The box is beautifully decorated and there is even a rabbit with mobile ears.

Inside there were 2 tomatoes, 1 apple, 1 courgette, a bag of Basmati rice, two jars of chutney, 3 Twix biscuits and a jar of bolognese sauce. I won't mention that the sauce and the rice were out of date!


I forgot to mention the tuna chunks!


We were at the hospital today for Mum to have a scan. The staff who looked after her were lovely and made it all seem easy for her.

I called at Liz and Nick's. They are in week 4 of a major alteration to their house with an extension, new kitchen and new bathrooms, plus other internal changes. Rather them than me. It will be lovely when it is finished.

It was good to see Fran, our Spanish friend, there. It sounds as though he is working far too hard at the local hotel where he manages the bar and the restaurant. He arrived here as a waiter and has proved his worth, but his hours are horrendous.

I've been to the camera club for a talk on Beamish, the open air museum in County Durham. I really must make the effort to go. It must be 30 or more years since I was there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.