Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Hanging in there

It's Wednesday again and 20 (or so) Haltwhistle Walkers set off from Matfen for a 10 mile circular walk. It was almost completely flat, so we were able to stride out a bit. The main problem was climbing the stiles. They were numerous and slippery. Thankfully there were no sprains or worse, just before the Festival starts.

The rain was intermittent. At lunchtime, a few of us sheltered in a bird hide along with a good number of spiders. They must be rewarded but there were no insects to be seen. I had my little point and shoot with me and it has coped well with the close up.

Back at Matfen, the pub opened early and we filled it with our noisy chatter. Everyone is getting excited about the festival starting. Maureen was selling calendars and I heard that the festival teeshirts had been delivered here. I now have mine and will be wearing it on Saturday for the first walk.

I can't resist my extra of my friend, Henry, who just happened to be on the edge of the image when I pointed my camera at the cows. They followed us across the field with great curiosity.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.