Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Green...

A quick blip today that was taken in between rain showers.  I found this big green katydid on one of my zinnias in the garden, looking rather magnificent on his big pink flower.  However, as I poked my lens at him, he hopped to the leaves of the zinnia, which I thought made an even better shot.  You can decide which you prefer.  

Kura, Peg and I stayed up late into the evening talking, laughing, playing dominos.  We continued our domino tournament this morning before Peg left to drive back up to Corning, and Kura caught the bus into the City.  House seems awfully quiet at the moment, but soon MIL will be here so the house will be filled with life again.  

Kura released Monarch # 147, a female, this morning in memory of her friend, Jan.  This leaves just one more chrysalis in the nursery.  I'll be dedicating him/her to someone I want to remember.

The monarchs that were fluttering all around the garden late into the afternoon yesterday (see HERE) must have roosted, along with the three releases, in the trees last night because they were all out in between showers today, nectaring on flowers and the hummingbird feeder.  Given the weather, I suspect they may all stay around another day/night before catching a southbound breeze.  Bittersweet.

Thanks for the lovely comments on my little collage yesterday.  I'm afraid I didn't put much effort into it as I was more interested in spending time with my girlfriends than futzing around on the computer.  Besides, sometimes good enough is good enough.  Right?

xo
Debbi 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.