Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Raindrops...

Raindrops keep falling on my head
But that doesn't mean my eyes will soon be turning red
Crying's not for me
'Cause I'm never gonna stop the rain by complaining
Because I'm free, 'cause nothing's worrying me
                                            -Burt Bacharach, Hal David

It had to be a monarch today, because today I released my last monarch of the season, #148.  This isn't her, because she was very eager to fly and not keen on staying around for photos.  However, there were 3 other monarchs in the garden, sucking down nectar from the zinnias who were all quite happy to be photographed.  In spite of rain showers (heavy at times) they were fluttering around the flowers, taking on nourishment.  If you look closely, you'll see that this handsome male has a single rain drop right on his head.  

I am both happy and sad to see my last monarch fly.  Raising them is a responsibility as they must be fed a steady diet of fresh milkweed, poop has to be cleaned at least daily from the bottoms of the enclosures, caterpillars have to be separated by size to avoid any accidental cannibalism (yeah, I know, but it's not intentional) and temperatures have to be considered.  But, oh the joy of having a butterfly perch on your finger as they scent the wind and test their wings for the very first time!

During this season, I released 148 monarchs (72 males and 76 females) between 9 August and 9 October.  I lost six - five as caterpillars and one as a butterfly that failed to emerge properly.  In the wild, these numbers would have been the reversed.  Next year (yes, there will be a next year) I hope to have 100% success, but nature may have other plans.

To everyone who gave me the privilege of releasing a monarch for someone who's left this world, thank you.  You made this endeavor more rewarding, humbling and wonderful than I could ever have imagined.

I have a public album on Facebook with photos and release notes from this year's Monarch Project.  If you have any interest, you can view the album HERE

Monarch Mom, signing off for today...

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.