Back of the Cathedral.

I liked today. First of all I watched the Super League Grand Final which I missed because of having to work last night. To be honest it was distinctly underwhelming! Castleford Tigers, the team that has dominated and played the most entertaining, skillful rugby league all season had serious stage fright. Normally they are one of the also ran minnows of the competition, and had only one player who had played in a major final before. Leeds Rhinos went under the radar most of the season, but are experienced and used to the Main Stage. They coped much better on the big occasion.

Much as I wanted the Tigers to win, they were hopelessly outclassed and bore no resemblance to the free-flowing team that has run rings around everyone all season. But this is the magic of the system we have! It has many critics, because the team that finishes top are not automatically champions (They get their own League Leaders' shield, commonly referred to as the Hub-Cap!) But this way shows that not only can you be consistent, you can also win knockout matches and handle the pressure of the big occasion. 


The team I support were crowned Champions last year, and we were there to witness the occasion but this year we had a very lacklustre season. And I fear it will continue in the same vein unless there are major changes...

Anyhow, I cuddled my cat and watched Rugby, then I made some healthy  (But not disgusting!) parsnip soup. I made my lists for what needs doing next week, and when Brian came home from birdwatching we watched a bit of TV, then went out for a few beers. 

Hence the rambling blip...I took this photo of the rear view of the Cathedral before we went to the first pub!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.