MONO MONDAY - WITH A HINT OF PINK - BCAM9

Who would be out on a drizzly Monday morning, wearing a pink robe and pink flip flops, taking photographs of pink clothes pegs on a washing line that incidentally is not pink?

I do think though, that if my neighbours had seen me this morning, they would be convinced I had lost it!  It’s one thing pegging washing out in the rain but quite another just putting pink pegs upside down on a washing line!

Apart from the fact that it was drizzling, I wasn’t that worried, as I had had my shower and my hair was still damp, the only difficulty was getting all the pegs to hang downwards.  After I had tried doing this several times, I just happened to look up and Mr. HCB was laughing at me from the bedroom window - I think he has accepted now that if I want a Blip, then nothing will stop me.  

The light pink pegs are my “posh” ones that are soft and a bit squidgy - I tend to use them for delicate things but the others are what we call “el cheapos” used mainly for Mr. HCB’s socks, but I was pleased at how good they look together.

Much like people really - how often do we question the fact that two people are together despite their many differences - but it seems to work?  You will, by now, have guessed that Mr. HCB and me are like chalk and cheese - or using today’s photograph outgoing (like the bright pink pegs) and quiet (like the more gentle pink ones) - and I don’t think I need to say who is who in our relationship - but it works for us - and has done for over 50 years!

It can be the same when someone has cancer - one will want to talk about it, not only to their loved ones, but also to friends and another will internalise it and just carry on as if nothing is happening.  That’s when we need discernment to know when to say and do the right thing.  

I remember going to see our lovely friend, Karen, when she was very ill - while we were chatting we used to laugh and joke and one day, when I helped by doing the ironing, I remember asking if I was doing it right and her response was “Keith will know I haven’t ironed his shirts, they’ve never been ironed so well!”  Along with all her family and friends, I miss Karen so much but am glad that I was there at times to laugh, chat, pray and support her.

“Too often we underestimate 
     the power of a touch, 
          a smile, 
               a kind word, 
a listening ear, 
     an honest compliment, 
          or the smallest act of caring, 
               all of which have the potential 
                    to turn a life around.”
Leo Buscaglia

P.S.  Please remember to click on this link so that those who are unable to pay may have a free mammogram.  Thank you.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.